Life In Mars

I know why the book of John Gray, Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus, released in 1992 was a huge success.
Years ago I read it borrowed from a friend.

That’s it. We need each other, it can be fun, it can be nice. That’s all. We can’t transform men’s behavior into ours.
No frustration.

Few weeks ago, a friend of mine called me on a Sunday afternoon and asked if he could come to my place because he needed to “talk to someone like me”. I got surprised but I said okay of course, he is a nice friend.

I knew in advance what his problem was. He was engaged and his fiancée found out he was cheating on her and they broke up.
He cried like a 5-year-old boy for a while and then told me how he felt and how he loves her and kept talking about everything that happened, what he did and why, etc, etc.

As I was listening to him, that was what could help him better, I kept thinking of how most of we women, here in Venus, allow heart and emotions command our thoughts and actions. And how the guys there in Mars fight bravely not to let it happen, at least not to let it last long when it happens, they fight to recover control over emotions. They really live in another planet. Most of them at least, there are exceptions of course, which is not necessarily positive.

Last Friday, the same devastated friend invited me to join him and other friends to go out. He’s getting over. We all had a nice time. He is incredibly better now. And I believe he was really devastated the other day. I also believe he loves her. But she can’t forgive him and make it up again. So he’s just recovering.

I see younger girls have a different attitude already and maybe there’s hope in the future things can get a little more balanced between men and women than they are now, at least emotionally speaking. Still those girls are exceptions.

It took a long way for women to conquer their space in society and look where we are now. We have the option of being independent.
That independence doesn’t go well with a Middle Age heart. No, no, no, no. It can’t be the end of the world when we get rejected or someone cheat on us. Wipe tears off and move on.

Now that we conquered all that space in practical matters I think many of us, me included, have a long way to become emotionally independent also.

We complain that men let their sexual impulses control them and they complain that we are too emotional and need commitment.

There’s gotta be a midway.

2 Comments »

  1. leafless Said:

    Compromising is never an easy task.

  2. mimulus Said:

    No, not at all. But sometimes women search for commitment instead of looking for what it takes :).


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

