I’m out of Orkut

I deleted my Orkut account. With no regrets.

It wasn’t doing me any good.

I know I had people in my contact list which the only contact way was Orkut. I know, but if so, what’s the point?

My birthday last month was on a Monday, I was working. People who knew about it and congratulated me for it were people I talk daily, like my family and a few friends. They called me or visited me.  That night I went to have dinner with a couple of friends and another single friend. They are my everyday friends. And none of them left me a scrap for it. We had already talked in person. So, again, what’s the point?

I found some funny communities and it’s cool to see how people are all alike somehow. But that was not me for real. When I choose a community, it’s because I identify with something I want others to know about me. I realized that the things I want others to know about me I want they to find out naturally, through real contact with me, by asking and being with me. It’s not a community in Orkut that will define something about me. The same way, the things I want to know about others I want to find out through real contact with them, if I have an opportunity, by what I observe and ask. I don’t want to read in any scrapbook that someone is on vacation, or dating someone new.

The worst case: I had a friend who died in a plane crash last year. His account is still active and I was advised by Orkut about his birthday few weeks ago. I visited his account and found many spam scraps and there was one from a guy asking him if he was a relative of someone he knew that had the same surname. The guy never got a reply, of course. My friend is dead for one year now and is still receiving scraps. It made me feel so bad. Since that day I’ve been thinking about deleting it. And today I did 🙂 .

I’m only alive in the real world now. Not in Orkut anymore.

I have MSN, which is a real time contact and an opportunity to interact with people who not always can be around. This I wanna keep.

In fact, people who I talk to, even occasionally, already have my MSN and e-mail. They never use ORKUT to talk to me.

And also I have people I met on the blogosphere through this blog. Even if they have never seen me, they share some very personal stuff [ my emotions are a very personal matter to me ] with me.

2 Comments »

  1. Piraboy Said:

    OK, you are out of orkut, but what about the rest? Let’s say that you die 5 minutes after reading this reply (“knock, knock, knock”), your msn account will still be available (and probably you’ll be “on-line”), your yahoo account still exits (and you’ll receive more e-mails) and more than that, “Mimulus” still will be on air. I will know that you have gone “from this to better” (and probably a week later, someone will find you sitting at your table, or naked on the red sofa and with a cigar in the mouth kkkkkkkkkk). Anyway, what I mean is that when you die in the “era of bits&bytes”, it’s kind hard to press the “delete” key and remove the rest along with you.

  2. mimulus Said:

    Only ORKUT and this relationship networks I find them all empty and meaningless now.
    MSN, e-mail and blog have other meaning. The first two provide personal, direct contact.
    And the blog is something about me.
    And ORKUT profile seems useless for me now.
    In short, nobody needs to know who I talk to on MSN or exchange e-mails with, right?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

