Time, changes and states

We all give so much importance to time, more than we should I guess.

Things change all the time and the most important is the final state we reach after each change, how it affects us.

I mean by state our condition as human beings in an individual level.

At the end, the most important will be the states we’ve been through, that can never be forgotten, and not when exactly we’ve been through them or how long did they last. The most important is HOW we got to a state and HOW we deal with it.

Of course many of us are stuck to schedules and deadlines due to work reasons, but we should not bring it to personal level. That’s not how it works.

I think that what makes us feel like we’ve lost time or time is going slowly is the sensation that nothing changed and when the final state we reach is the same as the one from the beginning after some time, or when we’ve been through states that makes us feel bad. And when we feel that time is running fast is because we’ve been through too many different states in a short time, specially the ones that make us feel good.  

I think we should worry about the states we wanna reach and not set deadlines for them. One thing may take months for someone and years for somebody else. We don’t have all the same timing.

Time goes by and life ends for everyone. But we shouldn’t focus on it. We’ll be spending time if we don’t focus on the states we wanna reach.

5 Comments »

  1. Piraboy Said:

    Your post reminded that song from Alan Parsons Project, “Time”

    And also this post http://catlingmex.blogspot.com/2006/04/time-is-flowing-like-river.html

    Kisses

  2. Miki Said:

    Bom Dia, Mimulus!
    What a great and intelligent post! What a great analyze, so clear, so simply said, so true! Your words are really a delight for the mathematical and philosophical brain part of my brain
    I agree with each single word. You know, time was always a theme to me, an enigma, I was always pondering about its nature. There was a time in my life where my friends called me “Momo”. Momo was the heroine of a roman, a little girl, an orphan, living alone in a ruin, and she spent her life fighting against the “Grey Men”. The Grey Men were thieves, thieves of Time. They had created a bank of time, and persuaded all the people to put their saved time in their bank, and they lived from it… She fought against them, with the help of a magic tortoise…
    How is it today in Brazil? We are right now more southly in Spain, at Kevin’s place, where we will spend some weeks, and then up to Portugal, where we will spend 2 months painting and traveling! Have you an idea where I could learn some Portuguese very fast? I knew a little bit, but I think I have forgotten everything!
    Hugs

  3. mimulus Said:

    Olá, Miki! Here it’s Bom Dia now and there must be Boa Tarde 🙂
    I’m 4 or 5 hours behind you now.

    Thanks for your comment and I found very interesting the story of Momo, that I didn’t know. I found out more in Wikipedia.
    Interesting also that the book was released once in America and not considered a child book and never released a new edition because the americans didn’t identify themselves with the story [what makes me like this book even more 🙂 ].

    Hey, BBC Languages have some courses online. But unfortunately, for Portuguese they have only some tips for travellers, which is your case.

    Take a look here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/other/portuguese/talk/

    I hope you find it useful. It’s the Portuguese from Portugal, that is a little different in pronunciation than ours. If you know Spanish then you’ll have no difficulty reading, as it’s very similar. Feel free to e-mail me any doubts you have at anytime.

    Enjoy your trip! I’m sure wonderful paintings will result from it. You’re very talented and Portugal is a beautiful area, though I haven’t been there yet.

    Abraços

  4. Miki Said:

    Ola Mimulus!
    Obrigada for your great answer!
    I know that Portuguese and Brazilian are quite different in speaking, and in fact, Brazilian is much more beautiful! My father learnt it as he went to work to Brazil, he spoke and understood it perfectly but he had always problems when he went to Portugal to understand them. They speak much faster in Portugal. In fact it is the same difference with the Spanish from South American and from Spain. I much more love the way how they speak in South America!
    But believe me, even knowing Spanish, it is not so easy to read Portuguese!
    Thank you for the link, I will have a look.

    Because some important changes are going on right now in our life (we will definitely move to Kevin’s place, and I have to make a new gallery…) we will travel to Portugal only at the end of May. Very exciting times, but of course very busy…
    Abracos!

    Very interesting what you say about Momo and the American! The author wrote the book called in German “Die unendliche Geschichte” which means something like “The endless story”. They made a film out of it. I guess this book had more success in America…

  5. mimulus Said:

    Miki, I wish all the best for you and Kevin in this new phase.
    Good luck with the new gallery.
    I hope you have a wonderful time in Portugal.
    About the book, I know the success of The Endless Story but I found this in wikipedia :

    “When the book was published in the U.S. in 1985, Natalie Babbit from the Washington Post commented: “Is it a children’s book? Not here in America.”[5] Momo has not been reprinted in the U.S. after its first run in 1985 and thus has been deemed a “lost book” for Americans.”

    Interesting, huh?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Momo_(novel)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

