Self-esteem

I’ve just navigated through a site about Macrobiotics and it took me to a link saying: How to avoid temptations during Easter.

The Macrobiotics site was okay but the link had a statement of a woman who is on a diet about how she is not going to eat any chocolate, which she loves, this Easter,  to “recover her self-esteem”.

Okay, it’s her decision but I think people who think like that woman have never known what self-esteem means.

I’m overweighted [all my life] and I am on a serious diet for many reasons. I’ve replaced and included many items on my diet, that are lighter and healthier. But I’ve bought myself an Easter Egg and intend to eat it all on Sunday. That’s not gonna change anything. And, according to the calendar, the next holiday involving fat food in Brazil is Christmas. I’m trying not to do anything hardcore so I can gradually adopt a standard I can follow like forever.

And I believe wanting to look better and being healthier is a consequence of self-esteem, not the condition for it.

Otherwise, according to these people definition of self-esteem, short, handicapped, old people could not have it. Worse, they would have a reason not to have it. That’s ridiculous.

It’s my great self-esteem that keeps my head on and doesn’t allow anybody to put me down. And the reason for the respect I have for all other human beings, including those people and their ridiculous opinions 🙂 . I respect them despite of finding their opinions ridiculous. And I’m just expressing mine here.

self-es·teem

1. a realistic respect for or favorable impression of oneself; self-respect.
2. an inordinately or exaggeratedly favorable impression of oneself.
Leave a Reply

